Hardware Calibration Switch

shmed

Hardware Calibration Switch

Post by shmed »

I'm working on a little project for my track car, and as part of my plans, I want to replace the hardware calibration switch with an output from an Arduino.

I figured that the hardware switch was just a resistor ladder type arrangement, but having had a little play last night, I'm not so sure.

Can anyone tell me how the switch works please so I can emulate the output from the Arduino?

I am a noob to electronics, so really don't want to tinker too much without being a bit more informed.

Also, if I wanted to power the Syvecs from a bench power supply, can I simply provide power and ground, or will the Syvecs grumble if it can't see any sensors? I have a spare Saab ECU connector, and I want to play with the CAN settings in the comfort of my house.

Cheers

Paul
shmed

Re: Hardware Calibration Switch

Post by shmed »

So, having looked through the manual (RTFM....), I see that the hardware switch actually uses a diode chain. Words I can type, but don't truly understand...

However, reading further, I see that the ECU can be programmed with threshold voltages,which I presume I can find by connecting to the Syvecs. Given these values, I suspect that I can simply 'instruct' the Arduino to output the required voltage and in turn tell the Syvecs to change map.
stevieturbo

Post by stevieturbo »

shmed wrote:So, having looked through the manual (RTFM....), I see that the hardware switch actually uses a diode chain. Words I can type, but don't truly understand...

However, reading further, I see that the ECU can be programmed with threshold voltages,which I presume I can find by connecting to the Syvecs. Given these values, I suspect that I can simply 'instruct' the Arduino to output the required voltage and in turn tell the Syvecs to change map.
That's all the BT module and Toucan do when they're used for that purpose.