IGN output load capability?

Post Reply
C. Ludwig
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 9:04 pm

IGN output load capability?

Post by C. Ludwig » Tue Jun 06, 2017 9:39 am

The IGN outputs are rated at 20A. What duty can those be run at consistently when used for aux functions? I have a couple fluid pumps that should run in the 10A range. Can they be connected directly to the ECU on an IGN output and run at 100% duty or is a relay advisable?

stevieturbo
Posts: 834
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 2:04 pm

Re: IGN output load capability?

Post by stevieturbo » Tue Jun 06, 2017 10:16 am

Given the size of some of the wiring pins used on the ecu etc....not sure I'd want to risk a 100% duty load running through them at high current even if the ecu could handle it ? Even if the IGN's do use the larger pins.

Unless it was still short duration run time at that duty ?

You'd also be generating a lot of heat within the ecu by doing so ?

Risk vs reward ?

C. Ludwig
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 9:04 pm

Re: IGN output load capability?

Post by C. Ludwig » Tue Jun 06, 2017 10:19 pm

My gut agrees. But it never hurts to ask. :)

Post Reply