CAN termination

pat
Syvecs Staff - Cleaner
Posts: 354
Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 9:23 am
Location: Out there... somewhere
Contact:

Re: CAN termination

Post by pat » Mon Jan 16, 2017 9:14 pm

RICE RACING wrote:X10: is on its own CAN link as posted above F88 > X10
Consider for a moment :

An S6 does not have a second CAN bus.....
The X10 may be used with an S6....
The SDM-X00 may be attached to the S6<>X10 link....

I'll leave it up to the imagination of others to infer what the consequences of the above are and how one might address them :)

TimH
JT Innovations
Posts: 605
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 2:51 pm

Re: CAN termination

Post by TimH » Mon Jan 16, 2017 9:25 pm

What's an SDM-X00?

pat
Syvecs Staff - Cleaner
Posts: 354
Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 9:23 am
Location: Out there... somewhere
Contact:

Re: CAN termination

Post by pat » Mon Jan 16, 2017 9:44 pm

SDM-X00 is my shorthand for SDM-300, SDM-500 and SDM-700, those being the range of Plex dashes that are compatible with CAN running a Slave Link :)

TimH
JT Innovations
Posts: 605
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 2:51 pm

Re: CAN termination

Post by TimH » Mon Jan 16, 2017 9:48 pm

Aha! OK :)

TimH
JT Innovations
Posts: 605
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 2:51 pm

Re: CAN termination

Post by TimH » Mon Jan 16, 2017 9:49 pm

Must have another go at coercing Toucan to work on the Slave link!

Grabla66
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 7:01 am
Location: Fordshire
Contact:

Re: CAN termination

Post by Grabla66 » Tue Feb 28, 2017 9:12 am

No issues at the dyno yesterday. X10 worked first time, with no CAN termination added. Just a direct connection between the ECU CAN2 and the X10 CAN1, hi to hi and low to low.

RICE RACING
Posts: 170
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 1:08 am

Re: CAN termination

Post by RICE RACING » Fri Mar 03, 2017 2:02 pm

sweet :)
http://www.riceracing.com.au
Real turbo road cars fast > reliable > durable
Water Injection Specialist

TimH
JT Innovations
Posts: 605
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 2:51 pm

Re: CAN termination

Post by TimH » Fri Mar 03, 2017 2:23 pm

I'm still confused by this...Pat says a termination is needed and is not included in the X10; you both say it is not needed. The last X10 I had here definitely did not have a termination built in, so maybe LR have changed the design recently.

Grabla66
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 7:01 am
Location: Fordshire
Contact:

Re: CAN termination

Post by Grabla66 » Fri Mar 03, 2017 6:11 pm

My F88 is five years old. If that helps.

Mark_r33
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 7:14 pm

Re: CAN termination

Post by Mark_r33 » Wed Jun 14, 2017 7:36 pm

Slight tangent;

Grabla66, what is the connection diagram thing you've got going on here, I like that, very clear

Post Reply