Power Steering Pressure Input for Idle duty adder

Pin outs, sensor calibrations etc
Post Reply
Run_Stop_Restore
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 08, 2019 8:07 pm

Power Steering Pressure Input for Idle duty adder

Post by Run_Stop_Restore »

Hi,

is there a smart way to include an Power Steering Pressure Switch to add some duty to the Throttly Bypass Valve.
I basically have 3 Switch inputs on my car (power steering, electrical load, AC). I'm using the Syvecs AC Switch Input to cope for High electrical load since the AC is deleted anyway but i dont want to pair this with the PS to avoid an idle speed change just because the steering wheel is turned.

Thanks in advance
Felix
Trickster
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 6:09 pm

Re: Power Steering Pressure Input for Idle duty adder

Post by Trickster »

Just seen this and it's an issue I have also, sometimes when stationary with my fans and fuel pumps running the car would bog and cut out as I turned the wheel.

Also sometimes when fans kicked in, at night moreso with lights etc

I made a custom table to increasing add idle duty against baterry voltage. I actually ended up making it a 3d table with time, so it does nothing for the first 60 seconds of starting the car, as it would rev its brains out otherwise due to the alternator waiting to kick some voltage out

Works nice with a bit of fine tuning!

Graeme
MR2 Turbo 5sgte 750hp 527ft/lb Syvecs S6
Run_Stop_Restore
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 08, 2019 8:07 pm

Re: Power Steering Pressure Input for Idle duty adder

Post by Run_Stop_Restore »

Hi Graeme,

thanks for your reply. I also thought about using the battery voltage but thats also just a reaction to something that already happened. My idea was to immediately create a torque reserve as soon as the Pressure inside the PS rack is increased with the duty to the Electronic throttle and keep the Idle Speed as it is with more spark retard. The same could be done with the alternator PWM as an input for the duty adder but unfortunately its not controlled by the EMS in my application :cry:

Best Regards
Felix
Trickster
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 6:09 pm

Re: Power Steering Pressure Input for Idle duty adder

Post by Trickster »

Well if you have a spare input you can install a pressure sensor and use it as a custom sensor, then create a custom map based on that input (and another like tps etc if you want a 3d map) to add idle duty

I know the battery one seems like it would have a delay, but it actually works great, I don't get any dip whatsoever now after a bit of refinement

Graeme
MR2 Turbo 5sgte 750hp 527ft/lb Syvecs S6
gazzasti1
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 6:47 pm

Re: Power Steering Pressure Input for Idle duty adder

Post by gazzasti1 »

hi most pumps have a output does yours not ?

you could make custom tables to suit either a pressure sensor or a simple switch input off the pump .

but you could just have a play about with the pid loops first to try fix the issue .

regards

gaz
Post Reply